The answer, statement by statement
What the answer is made of
Entered the record recently
3First stated within the last 3 checks — the least tested part of this answer.
New
GPT-5.6 had officially published per-token pricing.
1/17
Exact baseline prices are documented for Sol, Terra, and Luna.
- Grok
No official per-token pricing figures were confirmed in the retrieved documentation.
- DeepSeek
New
OpenAI published a numeric GPT-5.6 benchmark result.
1/17
An official evaluation gave GPT-5.6 Sol a score of 53.6.
- Grok
No specific numeric benchmark values appeared in OpenAI’s documentation reviewed.
- DeepSeek
New
The GPT-5.6 limited preview date was June 26, 2026.
1/17
The limited preview began on June 26, 2026.
- Grok
The available material did not specify the preview date.
- DeepSeek
Dropped 7 statements the models stopped making · 29 one-off phrasings left out +
Stated in more than one earlier check, absent from this one. Nothing here was retracted — the models simply stopped saying it. 6 of the 23 checks listed no statements at all and count as gaps, not as absences.
Dropped
OpenAI has not announced a release date for GPT-6.
last Aug 19, 2026
Dropped
no confirmed public launch window
last Aug 02, 2026
Dropped
Any specific date you may see online is speculation
last Jul 25, 2026
Dropped
Model C introduces an internal next-generation model named Astra, whereas the consensus and other models do not mention it.
last Aug 06, 2026
Model C introduces Astra as an internal next major model that might be related to future releases.
- Grok
Models A and B do not discuss Astra and focus solely on the GPT-5.6 family and the absence of a GPT-6 date.
- Gemini
- OpenAI
Dropped
Recent official release notes and product pages focus on GPT-5.6, not GPT-6.
last Aug 11, 2026
Dropped
What OpenAI is officially showing right now is the GPT-5.6 family as its current frontier line, including Sol, Terra, and Luna variants.
last Aug 11, 2026
Read the full answer Check 23 of 23 · 2026-09-02 · 3 models +
What the models say now
majorThe new answer omits and effectively contradicts the old answer’s central claim that OpenAI officially confirmed an internal unreleased model called Astra. It instead states that no successor has been officially announced, changing the conclusion about what OpenAI has publicly acknowledged.
Based on official documentation and verified public announcements from OpenAI, here is the current confirmed evidence regarding OpenAI's next flagship model and its current product lineup.
Model Naming and the "GPT-6" Designation
The name "GPT-6" is entirely unconfirmed and speculative. OpenAI has not published a model card, product page, or official documentation acknowledging a model named GPT-6. Instead, OpenAI's official documentation and recent product rollouts center on the GPT-5.6 family (such as the Sol, Terra, and Luna tiers).openai openai While community leakers, tech forums, and prediction markets commonly refer to OpenAI's next major unreleased iteration as GPT-6, OpenAI has not confirmed whether any future commercial product will use that naming convention.
Release Timing and Milestones
There is no official release date, launch window, or roadmap timeline published by OpenAI for a next flagship successor beyond the current GPT-5.6 generation. Because an official successor model has not been announced or released, it has achieved none of the three core commercial milestones:
- Announcement: Not officially announced.
- ChatGPT Availability: None.
- API Availability: None.
Model Variants, Benchmarks, and Pricing
Because OpenAI has not published a model card, preview, or technical documentation for a next-generation flagship successor, details regarding model variants, parameter counts, context window sizes, official benchmark scores, and pricing are unpublished and unconfirmed. Any specific figures, metrics, or cost structures circulating online stem entirely from unverified leaks, third-party speculation, or community extrapolation rather than official OpenAI documentation.
Where this comes from 13 sources in this check · 262 dated across the record · 9 new +
Best available sources
Show 8 more sources
Sources that left the record (249)
A source dropping out is part of the record too: it carried an earlier version of this answer and is not part of the current one. The models re-run their own web search on every check, so single links come and go. The 8 most recently dropped are shown here, dated to their last appearance.
Every position, model by model Direction Shift — · Not comparable +
Where the models actually split
Each question keeps its own dimensions. Ask one model and you get one of these positions with no sign that the others exist.
GPT-5.6 had officially published per-token pricing.
Exact baseline prices are documented for Sol, Terra, and Luna.
- Grok
No official per-token pricing figures were confirmed in the retrieved documentation.
- DeepSeek
OpenAI published a numeric GPT-5.6 benchmark result.
An official evaluation gave GPT-5.6 Sol a score of 53.6.
- Grok
No specific numeric benchmark values appeared in OpenAI’s documentation reviewed.
- DeepSeek
The GPT-5.6 limited preview date was June 26, 2026.
The limited preview began on June 26, 2026.
- Grok
The available material did not specify the preview date.
- DeepSeek
| Model | Jul 23 | Jul 24 | Jul 25 | Jul 26 | Jul 27 | Jul 28 | Jul 29 | Jul 30 | Jul 31 | Aug 01 | Aug 02 | Aug 03 | Aug 04 | Aug 05 | Aug 06 | Aug 07 | Aug 08 | Aug 09 | Aug 10 | Aug 11 | Aug 19 | Aug 26 | Sep 02 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI | — | — | — | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Gemini | — | — | |||||||||||||||||||||
| Grok | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| DeepSeek | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
The record behind this page 23 checks kept in full · 1 material change +
The record
The consensus moved in the latest check.Last material change on Sep 02, 2026. 23 checks kept in full, 262 sources dated.
The new answer omits and effectively contradicts the old answer’s central claim that OpenAI officially confirmed an internal unreleased model called Astra. It instead states that no successor has been officially announced, changing the conclusion about what OpenAI has publicly acknowledged.
How this answer held up
70/100 agreement at this checkThe same question, re-asked 23 times. The score moves between a small set of grading levels, so read the steps as levels, not as measurements.
-
70/100
Major
The new answer omits and effectively contradicts the old answer’s central claim that OpenAI officially confirmed an internal unreleased model called Astra. It instead states that no successor has been officially announced, changing the conclusion about what OpenAI has publicly acknowledged.